Windstorm Challenge Photoblog

The University of Maine’s AEWC Advanced Structures and Composites Center welcomed students from schools all across Maine to the first DeepCwind Consortium’s Windstorm Challenge on Friday, May 13. The events took place throughout the day in the University of Maine’s Wallace Pool and Field House. Check out some of the photos taken on competition day.

More photos at full sizes will be available for viewing on our Flickr account shortly.

Photos were taken by Bill Drake of William Drake Photography.

  • First place: "Ace of Spades" from Maine School of Science and Mathematics.
  • Second place: “Floating Ducks” from Mt. Blue High School.
  • Third place: “Team Syracuse” from Lake Region High School.
  • Fourth place: “Wyld Stallyns” from Maine School of Science and Mathematics.
  • “Wind 2” of Westbrook High School.


Eulan Patterson (Electrical and Computer Engineering undergraduate) and Anthony Viselli, P.E. (staff researcher) reviewing data from platform testing.



Peter Drown (Economics undergraduate), Seth Swanberg (MBA candidate) discussing Team Ace of Spade's platform, pictured.



Apart from platform design and testing, teams also had to prepare a presentation to give to a panel of expert judges. Judges shown in this photo include Paul Anderson, Director of the Maine Sea Grant College Program and Damon Hall, Ph.D. of the Maine Sustainability Solutions Initiative.




Seth Swanberg (MBA candidate), Jacob Ward (Hampden Academy senior), Elizabeth Viselli (Associate Program Manager), Joshua Plourde (Earth Science undergraduate)—some of the Windstorm Challenge staff.



Center: Windstorm Challenge 2011 winners of "Ace of Spades" from Maine School of Science and Mathematics and their advisor, Luke Shorty. Right: Dr. Habib J. Dagher, P.E. of the University of Maine Advanced Structures and Composites Center. Back L to R: Lyndsy Shuman (Technical Writer and Graphic Designer), Marcy Smith (Administrative Assistant), Peter Drown (Economics undergraduate), Seth Swanberg (MBA), Kip Palmer (New Media undergraduate), Josh Plourde (Earth Science undergraduate—not shown), James Fields (Philosophy undergraduate), Elizabeth Viselli (Associate Program Manager)—small group of Windstorm Challenge staff.